top of page
  • Writer's pictureCBFM News

Music Nova Scotia announces 2022 award nominations

Adam Young, Aaron MacDonald, Steve MacIntyre, Isabella Samson, Eirinn Fraser, CBFM, The Coast 89.7 and The Town Heroes.

Those are just some of the Cape Bretoners up for Music Nova Scotia Awards this year!

Here's a full list of nominees announced on Tuesday.

The 2022 Music Nova Scotia Music Awards nominees are:

African Nova Scotian Artist of the Year

Haliey Smith

Jody Upshaw


Reeny Smith


Americana/Bluegrass Recording of the Year

Aaron MacDonald - It's Been Too Long

Cheval -Singer Songwrecker

Gabriel Minnikin - Sweet Nothings

Steve MacIntyre - Steve MacIntyre

Willie Stratton - Drugstore Dreamin'

Classical Recording of the Year

Catherine Little -Taking Five

Chimera Trio -Constellations

India Gailey - to you through

Jennifer King - O Mistress Moon: Canadian Edition

Maureen Batt - Lighthouse

Country Recording of the Year

Charlie A'Court & Witchitaw - When Country Gets The Blues

Farewell Town - Farewell Town

Ken Ward - Fallen Angel

Lisa Richard - Promises Kept

Thomas Stajcer - Midwestern States

DJ of the Year



Karate Kactus


Troy Power

Electronic Artist of the Year


Kristen Martell

Nicole Ariana



Entertainer of the Year

Atay & JAX

Daniel James McFadyen


Neon Dreams

Nicole Ariana

Rich Aucoin

The Town Heroes


Willie Stratton


Folk / Roots Recording of the Year

Blue Lobelia - Resilient Moon

Daniel James McFadyen - August, I'm Yours

Dave Carroll - Until One Day

Eric Stephen Martin - Dreamlike

Isabella Samson - If It's Not Forever

Hip Hop Recording of the Year

Ghettosocks x DK - Listen to the Masters

Harmz - Glorious Purpose

LxVNDR - Moonwater

Mo Money Matteo - Camp Nowhere

YFilla - NU ERA VOL1., PART 2

Indigenous Artist of the Year

DeeDee Austin


L'Nu JoKeR

Matt Meuse

SHiFT from THA 902

Jazz Recording of the Year

Behrooz Mihankhah - Lydium

Brian McConnell - Footman

Karen Myatt - Femoir

Sam Wilson - Into A Heart: Part II

Vesuvius Big Band - Live at Open Waters Festival

Loud Recording of the Year

Botfly - Lower Than Love

Electric Spoonfull - 2 Poor 4 a Two Four

Feathers & Anvils - Swallowed by the Sun

No, It's Fine. - I Promise.

Shadow of Everest - Where Giants Die

Music Video of the Year

Advocates of Truth - BRO AM IN LOVE (Directed by: KEKE BEATZ)

Awolk - No Eyes (Directed by: Tim Mombourquette)

Kin Crew - Silent (Directed by: Joel Jennex & Gee Clarke)

Maggie Andrew (JORIE) - Honda Civic (Directed by: Andy Hines )

Neon Dreams - Little Dance (Directed by: Dan Lewis & Frank Kadillac)

Musician of the Year

Cassie Mann

Clare Macdonald

Katelyn Bonomo

Micah Smith

Reeny Smith

New Artist Recording of the Year

Advocates of Truth - Never Too Late

DeeDee Austin - Stepping Stones

Keeper E. - Thank u and Please and Don't Go

Laura Rae - Didn't Know

Moonwalka - Pandemic Pandemonium

Pop Recording of the Year

Advocates of Truth - Never Too Late

Atay & JAX - Did You Have Fun?

Keeper E.- Thank u and Please and Don't Go

Mitch Currie - Good Enough For Now

Pillow Fite - Flutter

Rock Recording of the Year

Andre Pettipas and The Giants - No Fools No Fun

June Body - Never Here for Long

Safeword - Currents

The Town Heroes - Home

We Should've Been Plumbers - We Should've Been Plumbers

Prix de l’Acadie


P'tit Belliveau

Peanut Butter Sunday


Yvette d'Entremont

SOCAN Songwriter of the Year

DeeDee Austin

Kin Crew

Nicole Ariana



Traditional/Roots Recording of the Year

Adam Young - Yearbook

Melina Coolen - Windows

Shannon Quinn - 20 Summers

Industry Award Nominees Artistic Development Award African Nova Scotia Music Association (ANSMA) Jones&Co. La Fédération culturelle acadienne de le Nouvelle-Écosse (FéCANE) Sonic Entertainment Group SoundBox Music Emerging Industry Professional of the Year Chris Ritchie Dylan Jewers Eirinn Fraser Kevin Beal Micah Smith Live Sector Award Acoustic Roots Festival Blueberry Jam Makin' Waves presented by Sydney Credit Union Sonic Concerts TD Halifax Jazz Festival Media Arts Award CBFM: Cape Breton's favourite radio station East Coast DNA Podcast Israel Ekanem Katie Kelly The Coast 89.7 CKOA-FM Recording Sector Award Chris Thomas Corey LeRue Scott Ferguson, FMP Matrix Entertainment The Golden Palm Thomas Stajcer Sound, Tech, or Production Award Corey LeRue Jordan Metro Peter Green Scott Ferguson Trevor DeSouza

For more information on Nova Scotia Music Week 2022, you can click here.

502 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page